Urban Poet featured on WE ALL BLEED THE SAME!

Leave a comment
A Literary Journal / Blogging / Blogs / Books / Information / Online Journal / Online Literary Journal / Online Zine / Poetry / Poetry about Life / Poetry Anthology / Poetry Blogs / Poetry Chapbooks / Poetry Contests / Poetry for College Students / Poetry Journal / Poetry Prize / Poetry Publications / Poetry Submission / Print Journal / Print Literary Journal / Prose Competitions / Prose Contest / Prose Writing / Publication / Publications / Publishing / Slam Poetry / Social Commentary / Social Injustice / Spilt Ink Poetry / Spoken Word / Spoken Word Poetry / Submissions / Tumblr Blog / Urban Poet / Visual Poetry / We All Bleed the Same / Writing / Writing Contest / Writing contests

Happy Monday, poets and poetry lovers! This week we have three poems featured on WE ALL BLEED THE SAME! Up first is a controversial response to the Kelly Thomas verdict “Justice for Kelly Thomas” by Urban Poet. Head on over to our Tumblr blog and read the poem! http://spiltinkpoetry.tumblr.com/post/74756462485/justice-for-kelly-thomas-by-urban-poet

 

Here’s a little about Urban Poet:

“My experiences have influenced and shaped my internal world, the way I think and feel. I pray that you have had many more positive experiences than I. Welcome to my world, the world of URBAN Poet.I have seen both sides of America – the ghetto and Wall Street. Unfortunately, the past decade has not shown America in a good light. I would like to apologize to the world, also to the American middle class, poor, disabled, and senior citizens for enduring an America that has been un-American. My writings reflect the bad and good in America and I hope it inspires America to do better. My style of writing is not poetry, but rather hip hop on paper.My parents lived in a very poor community in Grenada, Mississippi. In search of better living conditions, they moved to Chicago. I was born in Maplewood Projects, on the West Side of Chicago. I had a physically abusive father. I ran away from home at the age of fifteen, but still attended high school for food and shelter. After high school, my life went on a downward spiral for many years. When I fell to the bottom, I wondered, “Why was I poor and the rich man rich?” I came to the conclusion that it had to be more than race, it had to be education. Shortly afterward, I enrolled in college and started receiving an abundance of loans, scholarships and grants. After tuition and rent were paid, I invested in the stock market. I continued on this course for seven years and received a bachelor of science in accounting and a master’s in finance, while managing to develop a large investment portfolio. I’ve been working on Wall Street since I graduated. Currently I live in Atlanta, my income is well into the six-figure range, and I have traveled around the world.”

 

Urban Poet

Leave a Reply

